The Legend of Zelda Project

 

Hello and welcome!

This is going to be where I keep track my ideas and progress for my Legend of Zelda 3-D project.

1-title

Currently I am in the early stages of remaking the original Legend of Zelda (for the NES) in 3-D using the Unity engine.  The game will be faithful to the original and will have some small flourishes added as homage to the officially released timeline.

Timeline

About Me

I have been a fan of the Legend of Zelda all of my life, the game was released in 1986, just a year after I was born.  It would be a couple of years before I actually laid hands on an NES Controller and actually played the Legend of Zelda for the first time.

Once I finally got a hold of the game, it was all said and done, I was hooked.  My father and uncle both played the game, they knew how to make maps with graph paper and keep track of important information.  It was fun and it was a family event.

I still remember the air of mystery about the game.  The world to explore, the dungeons to uncover, the treasures to find.  One of the things I remember best is my fear of the Wall Masters.  I am not certain why, but they always freaked me out.

Inspiration

On TV, there was the Legend of Zelda cartoon, it came on Friday when the Super Mario Bros. Super Show would be on.

250px-lozanimatedtitlescreen

There were also other forms of media.

molblins-magic-spear-cover

9575529429_d840c2bc77_b

This one below though, it is what stuck in my mind…

z1manual-03-04I wanted this.  It was a Legend of Zelda world map, but it was also like a model train set!!!

This project is my realization of my younger self’s dream of having the model that was pictured in the instruction manual.

I will be shooting for a style based directly on the actual in game sprites, the artwork from the instruction manual and artwork from other official sources.  One major influence on the style I am wanting to go with is an illustrator who worked for Nintendo, Katsuya Terada.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

His images were burned in my mind and I want to use his style to build the world the creators of the game wanted.

On Deviant Art, I was able to find an artist who had done the entire set of enemy sprites in a style I really liked.

http://deimos-remus.deviantart.com/gallery/24578373/The-Legend-of-Zelda

His art melded the sprites and the images from the game manual in a way I really enjoy.

There is also a comic I found on Deviant Art in which I find ideas and inspiration.

http://adambrycethomas.deviantart.com/gallery/43473918/TLoZ-Comic

the_legend_of_zelda___12___the_lonely_lake_by_mregaku-d6luz6rthe_legend_of_zelda___15___retreat_by_mregaku-d6x3e2zthe_legend_of_zelda___16___slow_screen_transition_by_mregaku-d6ztbx8the_legend_of_zelda___17___18___level_1_by_mregaku-d71c4ol

The last image above I thought was really neat because it is exactly what I had done with the entrance to Labyrinth 1 in my remake.

Using the tools now available, I will be creating a version of the land of Hyrule through which we will be able to walk about in first person, or look down from above like in the original game.  The terrain, locations, items, secrets and enemies will all be included eventually.

In my next entry, I will go over my first steps and tools that were used as I started this project years ago.

Leave a Reply

