The Overworld

The biggest thing I wanted was to be able to explore the land of Hyrule in a 3-D capacity.  Years ago I discovered a piece of software called L3Dt by Bundysoft.

http://www.bundysoft.com/L3DT

This is what I used to import the initial height-map I had created based off of the original Legend of Zelda over-world map.

Below is the original map:

NES Hyrule:

zelda-overworld(map)

And below is my height-map:

B&W Height-Map of Hyrule:

loz_heightmap_HM8This took a good number of steps before the map was even imported into L3DT.

Removing the color, adding grey and adding the screen grid.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step2

Continuing to remove the color and add grey.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step3

Adding more grey to define more heights.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step4

All of the screens have their base altitude.  Numbers added to denote the RGB value of that area.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step5

Removed the grid.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step6

Removed the numbers.

LOZ_NES_Overworld_HM_Step7

And then finally it was imported into L3DT where I manually shaped the landscape from this very rough and blocky height-map.

Hyrule L3DT

Below is an aerial view of the first screen (Grid H8)

L3DT Start ScreenOnce I finished this up, I exported the height-map as a .BMP file.  This is not the first time I have created a height-map of Hyrule.  Long ago I used a terrain editor called T Ed (http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=view_product&id=2102).

With this height-map, I initially attempted to import it into UDK.  There were some issues (which I later learned how to resolve), so I had given up.  My good friend who turned me onto UDK then showed me Unity.  From then on, that is what I have been working in.

The image had to be split up though, the terrain objects needed to be a power of two x power of two (128×128, 256×256 etc.)  The map was updated to have a large sea to the southern portion.

Hyrule 2048x2048

That was taken and then broken up into even 256×256 pieces.

For some reason, the original image had to be flipped along the horizontal axis to get it to import in the right orientation.

On import, I was getting a very unusual terrain block.  It was nothing like what I was expecting.  Turns out, you have to save the image as a grey-scale image with no additional indexed information.

PS Greyscale

Once the image is converted to grey-scale, you will then need to export it as a .RAW type file.

Below is after the map was imported and textured.  Some of the GUI is visible as well.

Unity Hyrule Start ScreenIt is in Unity that I have been able to import models, create scripts, add vegetation and explore all of Hyrule’s over-world.

Tomorrow I will go into more about what programs I am using in addition to Unity.

Leave a Reply

