Back at It

Finally, I have picked back up on my 3D modeling, scripting, and design for the project!

It seems that winter, through March, really gets to me. A lack of motivation, and just not good feeling overall.  Spring has sprung though, I am locked in for the Quarantine anyways, so might as well get cracking at this project again.

So, new things and such.

Unity has updated considerably, as well as Blender, two of the main tools I use.  No longer trying with Photoshop, I started learning to do all the same within GIMP.

Essentially, the is another restart of the project to some degree, I have completely redone the way I am working with the Overworld in Unity.  Instead of designing the maps and importing as objects with the trees, grass, and texturing done, I have been able to get the Unity Terrain system to do what I want!  The screens, the textures, trees, and grass are all now handled through the in editor system and the whole Neighbor Terrain block is built into Unity, so no need for separate scripting to make the “Screens” appear and disappear for performance.

Hyrule Revised

Here you can see the new Overworld as a WIP.  After playing through LTTP and looking over the new release of Links Awakening, I had changed my thoughts on the shape of the mountains and the altitude represented.  I used the stairwells as the basis for different heights, as I had before, but instead of corraling the walkable paths in oddly shaped mountain walls, I have turned cliff faces more akin to what is seen in the top-down iterations after the NES.

Revised Graveyard

BotW Models have also become more readily available, so I have been able to add a bit more flare to things, pulling in more of my ideas about the Sheika, Labyrinth 6 and such.

The islands of Lake Hylia have been updated so they are more Island-Like, as you can see in the comparison below.

BotW also has given some information for the naming of different zones as you discover them:

hyrule_age-31_tloz-botw_02

Some of the more complete areas:

Vs.

The plan is to get a functional walkthrough from the start screen, into the cave and then to Labyrinth 01.

I should be continuing to update on here, so stay tuned as I get the world built!

One more for fun:

Moon

Leave a comment